Why Is Galapagos Wonder One Of The Seven Underwater Wonders?

iguana, lizard, Galapagos Wonder

Exploring the Hidden Depths: The Galapagos Wonder of Underwater

The Galapagos Islands are one of the seven underwater wonders* of the world. This chapter discusses why the Galapagos Wonder is one of the seven underwater wonders.

The Galapagos Islands are a group of 127 islands located in the Pacific Ocean, west of Ecuador, within the South American continent. The total area of these islands is about 8 thousand square kilometers.

Above the ground, on the seashore, and under the sea, there are various types of beautiful rocks and many species of animals and plants.

Galapagos Wonder
Giant Galapogean Prickly Pear (Opuntia echos var. gigantea) on Santa Cruz, Galapagos Islands” by Dallas Krentzel is licensed under CC BY 2.0

The underwater ecosystem in the Galapagos Islands is equally exciting and unique. Visiting the Galapagos Islands is like walking into the world of some of Earth’s most distinctive and rare wildlife.

Notable species of Penguins, fur seals, giant tortoises, marine iguanas, blue-footed boobies, and hawks are found here, and many unique species can rarely be expected anywhere else in the world.

This area is a unique specimen of the natural reserve. The Galapagos Wonder attracted the scientist Charles Darwin, who visited it to study various animals and plants. Finally, he was inspired by the nature of this place and wrote a book called “On the Origin of Species.”

Experts are concerned about the threat of illegal fishing in the Galapagos and the introduction of exotic fish species.
However, the Galapagos region was declared a national park in 1959, the oldest national park in Ecuador.

The rules have been made strict for tourists to protect this area as a unique natural resource. For example, when entering the park, it is requested that the soles of the shoes be washed so that weed seeds from the outside world do not come.

Of the 127 islands in the Galapagos region, 97% are uninhabited areas covered by national parks, while in 4 islands, 3% are inhabited areas.

For all these reasons, the Galapagos Islands are one of the seven underwater wonders and a heavenly natural gift for the human community.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top